Genealogy Software: WGBP #28

Goodness, has it really been two months since my last post here? My excuse: pursuing a new focus as a web designer in a new town has given me many opportunities to learn, share, network and do some interesting work along the way.

Moving on, this week’s genealogy blogging prompt is about the software we use in our genealogy research.

I’ve already written extensively about Reunion for the Mac. Some of the other fun features I’ve taken advantage recently is the ability to save charts as graphic files (PNG):

Ancestor Chart

Ancestor Chart

Other software worth mentioning

  • iTunes is great for downloading genealogy podcasts,  such as the UK’s The National Archives Podcast Series (UK) or The Genealogy Guys Podcast, not that I’ve ever found the time to listen to them in full….
  • Twitter apps such as Tweetdeck keep me up to date in the world of genealogy and genealogy blogging. There are some fabulous genealogists on Twitter, all of them a fun and lovely bunch of people.

    Also, if it weren’t for Twitter, I probably wouldn’t have followed the recent controversy related to GenealogyWise. I think it’s safe to say they’ve learned their lesson about what a social network is and isn’t to its members.

Leave a comment

Filed under Genealogy, Tips

Leave a Reply

