Last Will and Testament of John Elliott dated Dec 9, 1862

Winnebago County Court – Will of John Elliott

Written December 9, 1862

In the name of God, amen, I John Elliott of the County of Winnebago and State of Illinois, being of sound mind, and understanding the uncertainty of life make this my last will and testament, and hereby appoint Robert P. Sane of the same County and State my sole Executor to carry out the same-

First my personal property. I give and bequeath to my beloved wife Susana, excepting notes and credits due me.

Second I give and bequeath my farm of eighty acres of land, being the East half of the South East quarter of Section Ten in the Town of Winnebago to my wife Susana, during her natural life.

Third – I direct my large farm in Section Fourteen to be sold, and out of the proceeds of said sale, with any notes or credits due me, all my debts and the expenses of my funeral and a decent tombstone paid, – and the bal. securely invested at interest and the interest paid my wife Susana annually during her natural life; and at her death I direct all the above property or its proceeds divided equally amongst my ten children. viz Sarah, intermarried with Caleb Shurtliff, George now in Iowa, Elizabeth intermarried with John S. Bouck, Anna intermarried with Thomas Midgely, Susan intermarried with George Firth, Emma intermarried with James Falkner, Anna, John, Ester and Ellen.

Witness my hand and seal this ninth day of December AD 1862

In presence of
Robert P. Sane
W A Dickerman
G A Sanford

his
John x Elliott (seal)
mark

Filed January 16th 1875
B.F. Sec Clerk
By OB Shaw Dep

Leave a comment

Filed under Probate

Leave a Reply

